My Trouble With Monogenism (aka, Why Catholicism Left Me)

I never left it. Indeed, I was never really apart of it. Never converted in the first place. So don’t call me an abandoner. The reality of the matter is that this has absolutely nothing to do with me, this has everything to do with them. Well, it does have something to do with me and who I am. I am a curious person at heart and I love the mysticism that the Catholic Church provides. I love their concept of Original Sin, the Hail Mary, the Incarnation of God, the Trinity (although I used to be anti-Trinitarian). What I don’t love though has something to do with Original Sin.

The Catholic Church insists that its followers believe in something called monogenism. This is basically the idea that all human kind descended from a single-pair of ancestors. Perhaps my Emergent Church Evangelical Christian father explains it best when he talks about God selectively handpicking a neanderthal and breathing a soul into it. Well, that’s where the Catholic Church and I really start bumping heads. The Catholic Church isn’t anti-science but when science contradicts official teaching of the Catholic Church it is. That’s not to say this whole monogenism thing contradicts science, but rather, when it doesn’t, it provides a sickening reality of God.

God is a racist. God is pictured as someone who selects a specific two from some sort of primordial era and calls this the human race. Nobody else is a human but these do even though they share the same biological characteristics. This is equivalent to racism in the United States, anti-Semitism in Germany, anti-Arab in modern day Israel. Except that it’s God who has declared who was human and what is not.

This kind of God to anyone – Catholic, Orthodox, or Protestant – is revulsive at best. Non-existent at worst. I’m sorry but if I were to become a Catholic, I just simply could not maintain to monogenism. Not only would it go against all reality as I know it, it would also go against my heart to defend it. I cannot worship the Catholic god and while I respect Catholics, I don’t think it’s healthy for them to accept such a god either. I love the rest of your religion, I just don’t love this part.

http://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula/2010/10/24/sunday-sacrilege-cant-cant/

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Theistic Evolutionism. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Trouble With Monogenism (aka, Why Catholicism Left Me)

  1. Why must my visitors be tortured with an ad? I don’t recall signing up for that.

  2. Pingback: Monogenism, Refuting Racism, Sin of Beastiality (aka why Catholicism can’t say goodbye to me) | newenglandsun

Leave a Reply

