Sorry…

Apologies about my raunchy post yesterday. That was vile of me. Going off of food for 24 hours isn’t starving. Going off of food for 48 hours a week on two days that are separated by another day isn’t starving. Being a child in Africa is starving. I fasted for 24 hours after posting that…well…it was actually 25 hours. I feel a little better. In 2 and a half hours, I’ll have completed another 24 hours of fasting. I don’t state this to brag, I’m just stating this to assert that I was wrong for what I said yesterday. It is something I can do and it is something that I should do more often than I’ve been doing. For me, it might be helpful if I just did no food those days. It works. And it’s all that is required of my parish. In fact, we only require that one fast on Fridays and hold Wednesday optional. Most Byzantine Christians especially in the Eastern Orthodox Church actually require both Wednesday and Friday fasts.

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Eastern Christianity, Eastern Rite. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sorry…

  1. jrj1701 says:

    The Orthodox Churches I have gone to have required fasting for the entire 40 days of Lent, the Russians being more strict. There is a joke that Metropolitan Michael tells in his preparing for Lent service. Two Russian monks visit a Greek monastery during lent, and at supper are given bread and salt water. They return to their monastery and tell their brothers “Those Greeks have got it made, they are allowed to have gravy during Lent.”

Leave a Reply

