God Speaks…

Try as he might, Mack could not escape the desperate possibility that the note just might be from God after all, even if the thought of God passing notes did not fit well with his theological training. In seminary he had been taught that God had completely stopped any overt communication with moderns, preferring to have them only listen to and follow sacred Scripture, properly interpreted, of course. God’s voice had been reduced to paper, and even that paper had to be moderated and deciphered by the proper authorities and intellects. It seemed that direct communication with God was something exclusively for the ancients and uncivilized, while educated Westerners’ access to God was mediated and controlled by the intelligentsia. Nobody wanted God in a box, just in a book. Especially an expensive one bound in leather with gilt edges, or was that guilt edges?

William P. Young, The Shack, 65-66.

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Atheism, Bible, Despair, Passion. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to God Speaks…

  1. jrj1701 says:

    Books sell, especially with gold guilt edges, thus turning God into a commodity sold to those that can afford it.

    • I have an Orthodox Study Bible that is hardcover without gold pages, an NLT that is leather-bound and has gold pages from the days I used to confine God to a book, an RSV-Catholic Edition that is paperback without gold pages, a coffee-stained NJB (I used it my Evangelical Covenant Church which was when I learned how Catholic Bibles and Protestant Bibles structure verses differently) that is hardcover, no gold pages, and so well-worn even after just two years that it’s damn near starting to fall apart, a paperback NAB with no gold pages and an NRSV with pages torn out from when I was fed up at my parents’ misrepresentations of sexual orientation back when I was coming to grips with my bisexuality–I felt what they were saying about it was so hateful and a deliberate misrepresentation that all the passages on marriage and homosexuality have been torn out from that NRSV, The New Oxford Annotated Bible–hardcover, no gold pages, and I have The Message which has a whacky softcover (city landscape to be exact), no gold pages.

      Damn! I only have one Bible that has gold pages! No wonder I haven’t felt God in such a long while! I need those gold-paged Bibles!

  2. St Bosco says:

    Little kid maybe, but I don’t know about adorable.

    • You’re just trolling at this point. I’m surprised you’re able to post to be perfectly honest since I blocked your mailing address. I’m going to have to fix that real quick.

Leave a Reply

