Am I a Christian?

I’ll admit, I’m definitely no super-Christian if I am one. But sometimes, I wonder if I am a Christian. I know someone who might call this pre-Christian. I’m not certain if the Church I am in is the right one either. I know orthodox beliefs and I know orthopraxy as well. I can tell you why the sacraments are important and why you’re a heretic if you reject both their importance and potency. But does that really make me a Christian? Since my baptism, I’ve done two confessions and have taken one eucharist. Certainly, that doesn’t make me a Christian does it?

I see so many people claiming what the ideal Christian is and ought to be. Some say that a Christian is someone who does good works all the time. If that is what a Christian is, then I am definitely not a Christian and many of us so-called Christians are not Christian either. I’ve heard a Christian is someone who believes in all the right things. But how does one really know why the right things are? And with so much doctrine determining what is orthodoxy, even Christians who claim to be members of the right Church are probably not 100% correct. Yes, even the professional theologians who spend their time with the intellectual debates deciphering orthodoxy are probably off by 15% at least.

So am I a Christian? Some might say my attitude toward other denominations in calling them heretical is a non-Christian attitude. I doubt that this is something that weighs me down from being a Christian. Even the most ancient Christians possessed this same attitude when it came to heresy. I certainly am not a good person. Someone asked me recently if I was a Christian. I’m honestly not certain how to answer that. I would state simply that I am constantly striving to be a Christian. That starts with going to church every Sunday. Then participating in the sacraments. Then striving to become more like Jesus. Ultimately, only God can know whether I am saved or not.

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Atheism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

