chess game with my uncle

So here’s the basic overall notation right here (I’m black, my uncle’s white):
1. b4 a5 {uncle starts out with the Sokolsky opening–the queen-side bishop is a huge part of his attack so black needs to put some heavy pressure on the queen-side bishop, moving my pawn to a5 attacks the b4 square and threatens to bring my rook out to prohibit the bishop from being able to advance}
2. b5! d5 {I was planning on playing c5 here but b5 attacks the c6 square so if I move my pawn to c5, white takes via en passant–I decide to develop my king-side instead although it might have been recommendable to move e6 first prohibiting bishop to move to a3}
3. a3 e6!? {I have offered a bishop exchange right off the bat, however, my plan is a little bit more sinister right now…rather than taking the bishop with the king, I’m going to get my king-side knight out into play and offer up some of my king-side pieces in order to make a drastic assault on his own king-side}
4. Nf3 Nf6 {he doesn’t accept but my knight’s out}
5. h4? Bxa3! {kiss that pesky bishop goodbye!}
6. Rh3 Qd6! {in case of assault on king-side, both my queen and bishop will be ready to attack the b5 square–he has to waste two moves just to set up an assault on my king any way from his queen side}
7. Nxa3 Ne4 {I’m not really quite certain what else white can do at this point. He can try to force black into playing defense but the knight is coming dangerously close to attacking the queen and black might not want the knight and want instead to go for a shot on the king.}
8. Nb1 Nxf2 {going ahead with my plan to decimate his king-side…that knight’s a problem and a threat to my own king side which could prohibit me from castling and that would not be great. I want to get my king to safety in case of an attack on my own queen side!}
9. Kxf2 Qb6+ {Moves he could perform would be Ke1 which would not be particularly great as that would allow me to win the b5 square with my bishop, pawn, and queen, he could go e3 but then after d4, he would end up losing another pawn, he could also try d4 himself but then I could offer e5 to that irritating knight also getting my bishop into the game.}
10. d4 e5 {blocking my attack, now I tantalize his knight with my pawn and get my bishop out}
11. Rg3 e5xd4 {I now will have a revealed attack on the king next turn with d3+ but now I know my uncle’s evil plan to utilize his rook against my king-side}
12. Nxd4 Qf6+ {does not accept the bait–pawn is exchanged}
13. Ke1 Qxh4 {pinning rook}
14. Qd3 O-O {safe to castle, king side protected}
15. Kd1 Qxd4!? {had to do something about that pesky knight but now black will be losing in all variations except one–g6 on the next move for black}
16. Qxd4 g6!
17. Qxd5? Be6 {He swallows a poisoned pawn here…there’s not too many options for his queen now}
18. Qxb7 {threatening the rook in the corner there) Rd8† (taking that rook’s going to come as the result of a sacrifice on his part}
19. Kc1 Nd7 {hmmm…does that rook still look appetizing?}
20. Qxc7 Rac8 {well, at least I didn’t have to give that pawn to him myself–also, it’s about to get pretty even–sacrifice paid off!}
21. Qf4 Nb6 {he’s going in for his own kill now…little does he know my sneaky plan!}
22. Re3?? Bf5 {not certain why he moved his rook to e3…what purpose does it serve, exactly?}
23. g4?? Rxc2‡!! {not certain if he forgot about king safety there or not but we’ll have to have a rematch some time–maybe in person}

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Chess. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to chess game with my uncle

  1. As I had two rooks that could move to c8, I clarified the rook…it should be Rac8 as it was the a file rook I moved…both were in the same rank though previously, only my d-file rook could move there prior to the knight moving so Rc8 would’ve been clearer in that context…

Leave a Reply

