R.I.P. Cousin Nick

Rock in peace, rest in peace, whatever you wish…you were an inspiration to me and my prayers are for you.

My cousin Nicholas Roberts died yesterday at the age of 27. May his memory be eternal!

I think I’m processing the grief differently than the rest of my family is. I mean, there’s an empty void and it feels rather odd and all but I’m more worried about my aunt who has apparently gone haywire after the family tragedy than I am saddened by the lost. I mean, I had no idea that my cousin was so successful and so valued amongst those he served with. According to the article, he had “the Army Commendation Medal (one oak-leaf cluster), the Army Good Conduct Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, the Afghanistan Campaign Medal (two Campaign Stars), the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, the Army Service Ribbon, the Overseas Service Ribbon, the Armed Forces Reserve Medal (with Mobilization Device), the NATO Medal, the Combat Action Badge, the Parachutist Badge, and the Driver and Mechanic Badge.”

Knowing my dad’s brother, who is obviously my dad’s brother, being a fixer-upper himself and all, I’m certain he would be proud of what his own son achieved in his life. I remember how my cousin used to be overweight and I saw him one family reunion and he was slender and muscular. “What happened?” I had asked and he said he had started running. My cousin was the reason I started running.

Please pray for my aunt though. I haven’t been able to develop as close a relationship with her as with my dad’s brother but she always came out to me as an incredibly fragile woman and it seems this loss is taking it hard on her. I have no idea what else to comment on other than that since he was a paratrooper, the following prayer to the very patron saint of paratroopers seems appropriate as of this moment.

St. Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle,
be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray.
And do thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Hosts,
by the power of God,
cast into Hell Satan and the evil spirits
who walk throughout the earth seeking the ruin of men. Amen.

And in Latin. A universal language for the Church (besides Greek).

Sancte Michael Archangele,
defende nos in proelio;
contra nequitiam et insidias diaboli esto praesidium.
Imperet illi Deus, supplices deprecamur:
tuque, Princeps militiae Caelestis,
satanam aliosque spiritus malignos,
qui ad perditionem animarum pervagantur in mundo,
divina virtute in infernum detrude.
Amen.

R.I.P. Cousin Nick.

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

