Judging my cousin post-mortem?

My dad got home from my cousin Nick’s funeral today and was telling my mother that there seemed to be no evidence of spirituality for my cousin. For my parents, this indicates a person was not Christian. But I have huge issues with this. I’ve been to a liturgy once where during the liturgy, before everyone (except me) received the eucharist, we cited the words of St. Paul and applied it to ourselves. These are the words:

Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners. And I am the foremost of sinners; (1 Tim. 1:15)

It is difficult to have someone believe the Gospel but it is even more difficult for someone to come to believing the Gospel when they think they already believe it. Apparently, for a couple at my church, their daughter, who is a member of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod, thinks that our church is apparently “too liberal”. Rightly so. We are far more Catholic in our theology than WELS is. Well guess what? I actually heard these verses first applied to the people reading them (as opposed to just St. Paul) at a Catholic liturgy. As I am not Catholic, I am unable to receive communion at a Catholic Church.

But this the main point–and I will say it again and again–my older sister who is an atheist is a better Christian than I am. I know I need the sacraments but because of the large shortage of ministers of the sacraments at my church and the ministers’ availability, I am not unable to receive them. Why is my older sister (a lesbian mind you) a better Christian than I am? Because she knows she’s not one. I have to constantly convince myself that I have a long way to go before I will be completely restored into the image of Christ as I am intended to be.

But honestly, it’s simply just a stupid game to judge another person’s spirituality. As a quasi-Catholic, I am well aware that the only people whose lives we are to judge are those of the canonized saints. Further, we are to hope for the salvation of ALL! Is it nonsense when I include in my rosary the prayer, “O my Jesus, save us from our sins, deliver us from the fires of Hell, especially those in most need of thy mercy!“? If I thought it was nonsense, I would cease praying it.

We pray for the salvation of all, including the dead. I am not qualified to judge the spiritual state of my cousin and am ashamed that my parents would attempt to do such. I find their judgmentalism to be divisive. I don’t need to get into this stupid game. My cousin shall be in my prayers as often as I remember him.

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Love, Passion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Judging my cousin post-mortem?

  1. jrj1701 says:

    Those who judge others spirituality forget that when you point a finger, you have three pointing back at you. Lord have mercy on this silly sinner†††

Leave a Reply

