Why I do not use Indian defenses

Other than the reason that I prefer the classical Dutch but also have a more classical style of chess play–the Indian defenses have proved rather quite solid, I’ll give that. But I am extraordinarily terrible at using them. Here’s a recent disaster I’ve had with the Neo-Old Indian defense. I had black pieces and my opponent had white pieces and here’s how it went down:

1. d4 d6 2. Na3 g6 3. b4 Bg7 4. c3 Be6 5. e3 Nc6 6. Bb5 Qd7 7. Nf3 O-O-O (maybe I should’ve placed my bishop in front of the pawn’s way there to prevent the d5 pawn fork and castled king-side instead) 8. O-O Kb8 9. d5 Bxc3 10. dxc6 Qe8 11. cxb7 Bxa1 12. Bxe8 Rxe8 13. Qa4 Nf6 14. Nb5 Bc4 15. Qxa7# 1-0

Okay, so…maybe a classical style player should avoid hyper-modern openings?

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Chess. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

