Deadly trap series game, immortal pacifist game, and a nice improvement to the French

So first, the deadly trap series game which has just been completed–I had black pieces and my opponent had white pieces.

Opening: Dutch defense
1. d4 f5 2. e3 Nf6 3. Bd3 Nc6 4. Bxf5 c6 (I’m going to prove this to be a mistake by turning my king-side castle into an offensive attack against my opponent’s king-side) 5. Bd3 g6 6. a3 Bg7 7. c3 0-0 8. h3 d6 9. b4 Re8 10. Nd2 e5 11. d5 Nxd5 12. Bb5 Nxc3 (I’m going to prove this relative pin on my knight to be a mistake from my opponent–I fork queen and bishop, however, this fork is easily countered by my opponent by walking into a skewer from my bishop on g7) 13. Qb3+ Be6 14. Qxc3 e4!! 15. Qc2 Bxa1 16. Bb2 Bxb2 17. Qxb2 (black wins exhange–two minor pieces for a rook and a bishop) Ne5!! (my opponent thought I had forgotten about my rook but this was yet another trap!) 18. Bxe8?? Nd3+!! (forking queen and king!) 19. Ke2 Nxb2 20. Kf1 Qxe8 0-1 (opponent resigned–far too many traps for one game)

Now, my immortal pacifist game. This is called an immortal pacifist game because I sacrificed both my knights and a rook for a cheap shot on my opponent’s king. Also, interesting lesson–most of the sacrifices I made in this game deflected my opponent’s attention away from his own king’s safety. I was expecting at any point, my opponent to castle but when the pieces that I left in danger and the pieces of his I attacked with my own pieces distracted his attention away from his own king’s safety. Pay attention to king safety first and foremost! The king is worth the game! I had white pieces and my opponent had black pieces.

Opening: English–symmetrical variation
1. c4 c5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3. d4 c5xd4 4. Nxd4 d6 5. g3 Nf6 6. Bg2 Bd7 7. 0-0 Rc8 8. Be3 g6 9. Nc3 Bg7 10. b4 Nxb4 11. Qb3 Nc6 12. Nb5 a6 13. Na4?! a6xb5 14. Nb6! b5xc4 15. Qxc4 Rb8 16. Nd5?! (at this point, my opponent is thinking that taking the knight will be safe because I’ll want to protect my rook when in reality, I am trying to prevent my opponent from castling–as such, the next set of moves are rather unexpected by both sides) Nxd5? 17. Bxd5?! Bxa1?? (I was expecting my opponent to castle with his king about to be attacked and all) 18. Bxf7+!! Kf8 19. Rxa1! (checkmate is approaching if I can just remove his sole defender–the dark square bishop) Ne5?? (forks both queen and light square bishop but missed the mate!) 20. Bh6#!! 1-0

Now, this next game features a brutal pawn storm but this is not what I want to highlight. There was another game I played yesterday against (I believe) a German opponent which I can’t find as of the moment, but when I do, I want to have a look at that game as well because it was also beautiful and experimenting with this. Normally, when I play the French advanced variation, my dark square bishop has trouble getting into the action until much later in the game. So I’ve been working on how to bring into the game with the French advanced much sooner. I believe I have found a solution by fiancettoing the bishop along the h8-a1 diagonal. So here is the following game where French advanced is played and my opponent actually plays the entire game from the early going trying to pick off my dark-squared bishop early on…so it is a threat with this development! I had black pieces and my opponent had white pieces.

Opening: French advanced variation
1. e4 e6 2. d4 d5 3. e5 c5 (normally a gambit offered here but also creates a solid queen-side pawn-structure for attacks against your opponent’s queen-side and is often utilized in the French advanced–most don’t capture the pawn and force black to play with a bad dark-square bishop for the remainder of the game but creates positional chances and counter-play for both players) 4. Be3 Nc6 5. Nf3 g6 6. d4xc5 (so he does take it and I could re-capture but I don’t want to change my plan mid-game) Bg7 7. Bf4 Ne7 8. Bf5 0-0 9. Qc1 Nxe5! 10. Bh6? Nxf3+! 11. g2xf3 Qa5+! 12. c3 Qxc5 13. Bxg7! Kxg7 (so he interpretes the dark-squared bishop as a major threat and gets it off the board by move 13!) 14. Rg1 Nf5 15. Bd3 Nh4! (with the threat of Nxf3+!! forking king and rook!) 16. Na3?? (misses the fork) Nxf3+!! 17. Kf1 Nxg1! 18. Kxg1 f5! (preparing pawn storm and driving bishop out–normally, a pawn storm from your own castled position is not recommended, however, this pawn storm has both an attacking and defensive principle to it–drive both attackers on my king as far back as possible) 19. Qf4 Qe7 20. Nb5 e6! 21. Qg3 f4! 0-1 (my opponent had had enough of this ridiculous game and resigned–his queen only has g2 to go to at this moment, my next move would be e4 driving back his bishop and so on…there’s not much counter-play from white to be had in this position and my rooks, bishop, and queen are going to be coordinated to join the fun on the assault on my opponent’s highly exposed king.)

My other game in which I performed this bishop fiancetto in the French advanced also generated some decent end-game play for black and led to yet another win. So this may be something to try out in the French advanced.

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Chess. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

